Award-winning series!
Presenting the works of Luna Pearl Woolf

Featuring cellist Matt Haimovitz

Sunday, February 28, 2016 at 5 PM
National Presbyterian Church

Marnie Breckenridge, soprano
Jonathan Blalock, tenor
Peter Tantsits, tenor
James Shaffran, bass

Enjoy the interactive experience of New Music for a New Age with award-winning composer Luna Pearl Woolf, whose works have been called "blazingly ardent...softly haunting" and "bluesy and atmospheric" by the New York Times, offers penetrating insights into her subjects, and draws listeners into an emotional journey. Her innovative collaborations with authors, filmmakers, dancers, and musicians tell original stories or grapple with history and current events.

Included is Woolf's Après Moi, le Déluge, a response to the tragic aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. Drawing heavily upon jazz, gospel and blues, Après Moi expresses what words cannot. "Ultimately, Après Moi aims to uplift," says The Associated Press. The New York Times describes it as "A strikingly allusive concerto that movingly reflects on the devastation."

Also will be excerpts from The Pillar, based on the Bernie Madoff scandal. This work digs beneath the surface to uncover a meditation on loyalty, corruption, and the nature of love.

Click here to view the postcard

Chorus America National Endowment for the Arts Facebook DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities